< Back to previous page


Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences


Lifecycle:1 Jan 2008 →  Today
Organisation profile:

The main mission of the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences is to carry out state-of-the-art scientific research with respect to the functioning of geo- and ecosystems at different spatial and temporal scales, including the interaction between humans and the environment and the sustainable management of natural resources. The department aims at providing attractive academic training at an international level in the fields of Bio-engineering, Geology, Geography and Tourism. The department aims at making an important contribution to the scientific understanding of societal issues such as environmental pollution, food production, climate change, nature and landscape management, soil and water management, exploitation of underground resources, rural and urban development, international development collaboration and tourism.

The Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences consists of five divisions:

  • Division of Geography and Tourism
  • Division of Geology 
  • Division of Soil and Water Management
  • Division of Forest, Nature and Landscape 
  • Division of Bioeconomics
Disciplines:Applied mathematics in specific fields, Geophysics, Physical geography and environmental geoscience, Other earth sciences, Aquatic sciences, challenges and pollution , Geomatic engineering