< Back to previous page


Department of Solid State Sciences


Main organisation:Faculty of Sciences
Lifecycle:1 Jan 1993  →  Today
Organisation profile:The Department of Solid State Sciences has emerged from the former U+201CLaboratory of Crystallography and Study of the Solid StateU+201D, also called the U+201CLaboratory DekeyserU+201D, after its founder Prof. Willy Dekeyser. Under his guidance, the laboratory has given an importance boost to the development of solid state physics at the UGent and in Flanders, leading to well-known important scientific evolutions and numerous applications in modern society. At present the department counts 6 research groups mainly active in the synthesis and study of functional thin layers and nanostructures, and the optical and magnetic characterization of defects. CoCooN focuses on all levels of thin film devices, from deposition to their different applications after extensive characterization. DiSC studies defects in semiconductors with the aid of FT-IR and DLTS. DRAFT is specialized in the experimental study and modelling of magnetron deposition. DyNaMat focuses on research on the dynamics of functional (magnetic) nanomaterials. The EMR group mainly analyses paramagnetic defects in solids using EPR and ENDOR spectroscopy. LUMILAB mainly investigates new materials for photoluminescence.
Disciplines:Condensed matter physics and nanophysics, Materials physics